Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Scots selected for UEC Junior and Under-23 European Track Championships


HomeOtherPress ReleasesScots selected for UEC Junior and Under-23 European Track Championships

Scottish-Cycling-logoFour Scots have been selected for the Great Britain Cycling Team heading to the UEC Junior and Under-23 European Track Championships taking place in Montichiari from 12 – 17 July.

Under-23 riders Mark Stewart and Jack Carlin will be joining Juniors Lewis Stewart and Jenny Holl – who were also selected for the UCI Junior Track World Championships earlier this month.

Mark Stewart from Dundee has been a sensation on the track – winning Gold in the scratch race at the UCI Track Cycling World Cup in New Zealand at the end of last year – so will be one to watch in the men’s endurance events.

Sprinter Jack Carlin is also no stranger to the podium and took Great Britain’s first medal at last year’s European Track Championships in Athens – picking up a bronze medal in the junior team sprint.

Performance Pathway Manager Ian Yates said:

“Following on from confirming that we’re sending Great Britain’s biggest junior squad yet to the European Championships, I’m pleased to confirm the under-23 squad who will be joining them in Montichiari.

“Given this event is taking place in Montichiari, the home of our European training base, we will head into it well-prepared in turns of the venue, and I am sure the men that are based out there will bring the rest of the team up-to-speed on how the track runs.

“Looking at the under-23 team we have selected, there’s some real talent in the squad and I’m looking forward to see us convert their performances throughout the year into podium finishes.”

Great Britain Cycling Team – UEC Under-23 and Junior European Track Championships


Women’s Endurance

  • Megan Barker
  • Hayley Jones
  • Emily Kay
  • Danni Khan
  • Manon Lloyd
  • Emily Nelson

Men’s Endurance

  • Matt Bostock
  • Jon Dibben
  • Matt Gibson
  • Joe Holt
  • Chris Latham
  • Mark Stewart – Dundee
  • Joey Walker
  • Ollie Wood

Men’s Sprint

  • Jack Carlin – Paisley
  • Joe Truman
  • Ryan Owens


Women’s Endurance

  • Jessica Roberts
  • Eleanor Dickinson
  • Rebecca Raybould
  • Emily Tillett
  • Jenny Holl – Stirling
  • Lauren Dolan

Men’s Endurance

  • Rhys Britton
  • Fred Wright
  • Ethan Hayter
  • Matthew Walls
  • Reece Wood
  • Jake Stewart

Men’s Sprint

  • Hamish Turnbull
  • Alex Joliffe
  • Lewis Stewart – Glasgow

Women’s Sprint

  • Georgia Hilleard
  • Lauren Bate-Lowe
  • Sophie Capewell

For more information about how to get into cycling visit