Wednesday, May 22, 2024

The Peebles Criterium 2011 Preview


HomeRaceRace PreviewsThe Peebles Criterium 2011 Preview

On Tuesday 14th of June we have a major new event for a summer evening in Peebles, in the Scottish Borders. For the first time, a major new road event will be taking place in the town centre: a Belgian-style kermis event with lots of the community involved and pubs and restaurants along the circuit; The Peebles Criterium 2011.

The circuit is short and spectacular, with high speeds along the Main Street and sharp descent, and tricky corners with a short uphill to test the lungs each lap.

Many of Scotland’s best riders will be competing, and we’ll see big crowds and a party atmosphere to shout them on too.

The Peebles Criterium 2011
Graham McGarrity will be one of the stars in Peebles.

The kermis is part of “TweedLove”, a week-long festival of bike-riding and good times in the cycle-friendly Tweed Valley — an area with hundreds of miles of the country’s best trails, tracks and roads.

The Peebles Criterium 2011 – Renners (Start List)

1. David Martin
2. David Caesar
3. Hamish Maclean
4. Matt Macdonald

Endura Race Team
5. Callum Wilkinson

Velocity 44
6. Matt Lock
7. Wayne Barr
8. Andy Wilson

Edinburgh Road Club
9. Ross Crook
10. Olly Young
11. Ken Russell
12. Neil Taylor

Dooleys Cycles
13. Martin Lonnie
14. Andy Leith
15. Graham McGarrity
16. Greg Brown

Leslie Bikes
17. Ali Robinson
18. Paul Newnham
19. Gary Macrae
20. Scott Macrae

Young Renners
21. Alastair McNicol
22. Lindsay Gordon
23. Angus Gillies
24. Dale McCallum

Pedal Power/Endura Development Team
25. Dave Lines
26. Gary Hand
27. Scott McRossan
28. Robby Hassan

Musselburgh RCC
29. Andy Mathieson
30. Chris Adamson
31. Derek Timmons
32. Andy Rowat

Directors Choice
33. David Lindsay
34. Craig Hardie
35. Allan Clark
36. Tim Allen

Peebles CC
37. Ben Arnott
38. Nick Gowrie
39. Chris Maclean
40. Sam Waterston

Have a look at the Tweedlove site for all the details of the festival.