Monday, May 20, 2024

The Scottish Junior Road Championship 2016


HomeOtherPress ReleasesThe Scottish Junior Road Championship 2016

Scottish-Cycling-logoVelo Club Vitesse, an Irvine based club, is proud to have been selected to run the Scottish Junior Road Race Championship for 2016.

This is the first occasion for quite some time that Scotland’s junior road riders have had a separate championship race of their own. We are pleased to be reinstating this important event and bringing it to the challenging roads of North Ayrshire on Sunday 11 th of September.

The race will consist of 6 laps of the Blair Road Circuit including the short, sharp climb of Brush Man’s Brae and the start and finish will be at Lylestone.

We have a field of 22 Riders with some of the best Juniors in the UK riding, these young riders could go on to represent Great Britain in future World Championships and Olympic Games.

The race leaves Eglinton Country Park at 09.40 and proceeds in convoy escorted by NEG Moto riders up to Lylestone Caravan Park where the race will halt and take instruction from John McMillan, Chief Commissaire on any safety issues.

The race will then start at 10am and do 6 laps of the Blair Road circuit to finish at Lylestone at the end of lap 6.

The Race Presentation will be held at approx 1pm inside the Racquet Hall at Eglinton Park.

Course Instructions

Circuit Distance is approx 10.4 miles = 62.4 miles

The Race Circuit
The Race Circuit.

Start on unclassified road just off B778 at Lylestone, Kilwinning and proceed for 2 miles until Cross roads at North Auchenmade Farm. Turn Left onto B707 and proceed on this road for approx 3 miles until reaching the Junction with Highfield and Blair Road, Turn left onto Blair Road and proceed for 4 miles until reaching Hazeldean ( Take care approaching bends before Hazeldean ) , Kilwinning and Junction with B778. Turn Left onto B778 and proceed for 1 mile until slip off and join unclassified road at Lylestone, kilwinning and end of 1st circuit.

This race will cover 6 Circuits starting and finishing outside the old school house at Lylestone.

Race Service will be provided by two Service Vehicles, Spare wheels are required as below. Due to the small field if you can bring front and rear spares this would be appreciated.

First Aid will also be provided by two vehicles as part of the race convoy.

Start / Finish area: Due to limited parking please do not park at the start area; a small amount of parking is available across the road from the start / finish. Also once you have finished please clear the start / finish area and head back to the strip.

The finish will be the same place as the start and will have SC photo finish equipment set up.

Please take great care when leaving the Start / Finish area and joining the Main road to head back to the strip as traffic can travel very fast on
this road.

Licence: All riders must produce current BC Licence or they will not be allowed to start, please make sure you have a photo attached to it as well. A Gear check will also carried out, please do not sign on until your gears have been checked.

Prize giving / Medal ceremony will be at approx 1pm in the Raquet Hall, Eglinton Park.

Refreshments will be available in the Raquet Hall after the finish.

A massive thanks to Neil Walker at Walkers Cycling for stepping in and donating prizes for this event.

Start List

1 Nico Anelli Angus Bike Chain
2 Matthias Barnet Spokes Racing Team
3 Finn Crockett Ben Wyvis Cycle Club
4 Stephen Dent Spokes Racing Team
5 Benjamin Gifford Spokes Racing Team
6 Craig Gow Tyneside Vagabonds CC
7 Lewis Gray Edinburgh RC
8 Danny Hedley Moray Cycle Racing Team
9 Calum Johnston Edinburgh RC
10 Innes Johnston Glasgow Cycle Team
11 Ryan Keir Synergy Cycles
12 Calum Kennedy Edinburgh RC
13 Lewis MacFarlane Moray Firth Cycling Club
14 John MacLeod Spokes Racing Team
15 Grant Martin Spokes Racing Team
16 Ewan Mathieson Glasgow Cycle Team
17 Ross McMurtrie Spokes Racing Team
18 Joseph Nally
19 Stuart Paterson Edinburgh RC
20 Cameron Richardson Synergy Cycles
21 Calum Shackley Glasgow Cycle Team
22 Euan Sutherland Glasgow Cycle Team