Monday, December 4, 2023

Giro d’Italia 2013 – Stage 21: Riese Pio X – Brescia 197km. Vincenzo Nibali, la fine meraviglioso


HomeStoriesGiro d'Italia 2013 - Stage 21: Riese Pio X - Brescia 197km....

The roofs outside our hotel window were steaming in the morning sun when we opened the shutters on Sunday morning. Vincenzo Nibali is set to take the overall victory…

Heat at last.

Much as we felt we’d been part of something special on Saturday in the blizzard on the Tre Cime – it was nice to see a clear blue sky and feel the warmth of the sun on our skin.

The Hotel Trieste is well up the ‘Fawlty Towers’ rankings; it was built by the old patron’s grandfather – and hasn’t been painted since – hot water was at a premium and outside our room, the place was freezing.

But the beds were clean, the room was cosy and the wi-fi was A1.

Not to mention the view from the front door, it knocked your eyes out.
Stunning scenery.

The run down from the Dolomites to the plains was beautiful with a new photo op. around every corner.

There was so much congestion at the start that we couldn’t get past the team cars and decided just to take the off course route to Brescia.

The riders enjoyed the run into Brescia.
Nibali has been in control for most of the race.

En route we crossed paths with the peloton early in their day – QuickStep were already up front and Vincenzo looked every inch the Capo.

Brescia didn’t knock us out – maybe if we’d had time to explore it we’d have been more impressed ?

The race caravan hit town as we marched the 4.2 K finish circuit.

Old School. Or is that a Rapha jersey?

We wondered if the boy who was riding the old ‘Eroica‘ bike had ridden it up the Tre Cime?

The finish circuit was flat and fast with QuickStep laying down the law from the start.

The only escapee we saw.

During the entire seven x 4.2 laps we only saw one man away – Giairo of Androni, but that was snuffed, PDQ.

Bardiani had Modolo and Cannondale, Viviani so they were there too, keeping the speed way up.

Pippo looked as cool as ever but maybe we’ve seen the best of him . . .
Nibali with the last 3km point as the only target today.

Nibali was cucumber cool; next year we perhaps won’t see him here – he has to take a serious tilt at le Tour as he comes into his best years.

OPQS on the front at warp speed.
But the day was all about QuickStep and Cav.

We saw the Omega boys after the finish and can assure you that there’s no problems with morale or team bonding in that squad.

Polish champion, Michal Golas was hyper at the finish – so happy that they’d done the job.
Iljo Keisse rode so well for Cavendish.

Iljo Keisse was very impressive on the circuit, seemingly always in the first three in the chain gang.

A Grand Tour in his legs will do his Six Day endurance no harm.

Pippo Pozzato.

We saw Pippo after the finish – not a great Giro for Lampre, despite two in the top 10.

Adam Blythe.

Adam Blythe was looking a little spaced out; no wonder, a warp speed criterium the day after a frozen high mountain stage – I keep saying it, but there’s no other sport like it.

Luke Durbridge.

Big Canadian, Svein Tuft looked tired too, as did Australian road race champion, Luke Durbridge – men their size were never designed for the Dolomites.

Sr. Uran Uran.

Uran looked happy though, second in a Grand Tour isn’t bad for a ‘support rider.’

In cycling terms it was a good Giro for Sky with two stage wins and a podium place.

But in terms of the British public it means little; Daily Mail readers don’t get excited about Colombians with too much hair.

Elia Viviani.

Elia Viviani is fast, but Cav is faster – his face showed the disappointment of trying to beat a man who you know that you can’t beat.

And with no one left to photograph, that was about it for VeloVeritas and the 2013 Giro.

We hope you enjoyed our rantings – and remember . . . it’ll soon be le Tour!

Ciao, ciao.

Nibali, cucumber cool.
Vincenzo Nibali is showered with pink petals as he celebrates on the podium with the cava. Photo©LaPresse

[vsw id=”9MP1_QrrK1U” source=”youtube” width=”615″ height=”380″ autoplay=”no”]

Results - Giro d'Italia 2013 - Stage 21: Riese Pio X - Brescia 197km

Stage Result

1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 5:30:09
2 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox
3 Elia Viviani (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling
4 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) RadioShack Leopard
5 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Team Argos-Shimano
6 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Lampre-Merida
7 Kenny Dehaes (Bel) Lotto Belisol
8 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Ag2R La Mondiale
9 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team
10 Luca Paolini (Ita) Katusha
11 Brett Lancaster (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge
12 Francisco José Ventoso Alberdi (Spa) Movistar Team
13 Ioannis Tamouridis (Gre) Euskaltel-Euskadi
14 Robert Hunter (RSA) Garmin-Sharp
15 Marco Canola (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox
16 Leonardo Fabio Duque (Col) Colombia
17 Rafael Andriato (Bra) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia
18 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli
19 Marco Marcato (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
20 Matteo Trentin (Ita) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
21 Dominique Rollin (Can) FDJ
22 Patrick Gretsch (Ger) Team Argos-Shimano
23 Bert De Backer (Bel) Team Argos-Shimano
24 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox
25 Edwin Alcibiades Avila Vanegas (Col) Colombia
26 Salvatore Puccio (Ita) Sky Procycling
27 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-Merida
28 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia
29 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2R La Mondiale
30 Fabio Felline (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
31 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team
32 Davide Appollonio (Ita) Ag2R La Mondiale
33 Rafal Majka (Pol) Team Saxo-Tinkoff
34 Benat Intxausti Elorriaga (Spa) Movistar Team
35 Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling
36 Danilo Wyss (Swi) BMC Racing Team
37 Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) Team Argos-Shimano
38 Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) RadioShack Leopard
39 Koen De Kort (Ned) Team Argos-Shimano
40 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre-Merida
41 Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) Ag2R La Mondiale
42 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Lampre-Merida
43 Fredrik Carl Wilhelm Kessiakoff (Swe) Astana Pro Team
44 Diego Rosa (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
45 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team
46 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) Sky Procycling
47 Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Sky Procycling
48 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling
49 Ta