Thursday, June 13, 2024

Scottish Hill Climb Championships 2010 – Preview


HomeRaceRace PreviewsScottish Hill Climb Championships 2010 - Preview

Promoted by Sandy Wallace Cycles, the Scottish Hill Climb Championships 2010 takes place on Sunday on the Purrin Den ascent in Fife, and around 35 hardy souls are preparing to put themselves through the seven minutes (and more) of pain it’ll take to see the relay station at the finish.

Scottish Hill Climb Championships 2010
The welcome sight of the satellite dishes means you’re nearly at the finish.

Last year, most riders opted to use their road bikes – perhaps influenced by the wind direction – but it’s fair to say that the long sections of steady gradient on this hill do favour the use of a single, fixed gear; but of what ratio?

Mari Todd rode on ‘fixed’ in the previous edition to take the Women’s race and lead her Sandy Wallace Cycles teammate Gillian Palmer to the team prize as well.

Scottish Hill Climb Championships 2010
He’s a big lad, but we’re sure Arthur is standing on the top of the podium.

Last year Arthur Doyle (Dooleys RT) took 7 minutes 21 seconds to secure the title – 51 seconds slower than Sandy Gilchrist’s course record, but he was pushed pretty close by the promoting club’s Gordon McBride, only two seconds back.

We reckoned one of the most remarkable rides done that day was by bronze medallist and Dooleys RT youth, Grant Ferguson – who was only one second behind Gordon. You know Grant is young when he cites his long-term goal as “becoming the Junior World Champion”!

Scottish Hill Climb Championships 2010
Grant Ferguson, doing what he loves best. Photo©Joolze Dymond.

Grant is back in his hometown of Peebles now after an extended GB team trip abroad, competing in the MTB World Cups and World Championships, and Arthur’s form is somewhat unknown following his unfortunate puncture in the Tour de Trossachs last weekend.

This, together with the fact that Gordon beat Arthur a month ago on the same course to take the Fife Hill Climb Championships, and quite a few other riders are showing good condition at the moment – despite the late stage in the season, means we’re looking forward to another close and exciting battle for the honours at the weekend.

* * *

Competitor List

2 Gavin Shuttleworth (Velocity 44) Youth
3 Rory Mellis Carnegie (Cyclones) Youth
4 Craig Wallace (Deeside Thistle) Youth
5 Cameron Balfour (Peebles CC) Youth
6 Luke Johnstone (Chryston Wheelers) Youth
7 Stuart Balfour (Peebles CC) Youth
8 Calum Foster (Leslie Bike Shop) Youth
10 Claire MacAuley (Johnstone Wheelers) Ldy
11 Jay Burgess Sandy (Wallace Cycles) Ldy
12 Michelle Gregory (West Lothian Clarion) Ldy
13 Laura Murray (Deeside Thistle) Ldy
14 Sharon Doyle (Sandy Wallace Cycles) Ldy
15 Mari Todd (Sandy Wallace Cycles) Ldy
17 Colin May (Edinburgh RC) Snr
18 Brian Thomson (Sandy Wallace Cycles) Snr
19 Neil Patterson (Sandy Wallace Cycles) Jnr
21 Steven Fraser (West Lothian Clarion) Vet
22 Andrew Underwood (Glasgow Wheelers) Snr
23 Andrew Davies (The Bicycle Works) Vet
24 John Patterson (Dunfries CC) Snr
25 David Griffiths (Glasgow Wheelers) Snr
26 Will Davenhill (Pedal Power RT) Vet
27 Matthew Ball (West Lothian Clarion) Vet
28 James Davidson (GS Metro) Snr
29 Kristoff Aksnes (Glasgow Wheelers) Snr
30 Jamie Kennedy (Glasgow Couriers) Snr
31 Steve Nutley (Sandy Wallace Cycles) Vet
32 Richard Davison (Ross-shie Roads CC) Vet
33 Scott Patterson (Sandy Wallace Cycles) Snr
35 Ewan Pope (Glasgow Couriers) Snr
37 Chris Smart (GB Fire Service) Snr
39 Joe Wilson (Sandy Wallace Cycles) Snr
41 Grant Ferguson (Dooleys RT) Jnr
43 Gordon McBride (Sandy Wallace Cycles) Snr
45 Arthur Doyle (Dooleys RT) Snr

* * *

Riders’ Notes


10:00am Sunday 10th October 2010


Purrin Den, near Falkland, Fife.

See the: OS Map of the climb, and: its location on Gmap.

Race HQ

Please note change: now Lumsden Hall, Freuchie – approximately 200 metres east of the Lomond Hotel.


Competitor parking is in the car park adjacent to the Lomond Hotel which is on the main street in Freuchie.

There is no safe parking near the start.

There is a car park at the top of the hill but because it is a very narrow road, vehicles associated with riders will not be allowed up or down the hill while the race is in progress.

Because it is a public road we cannot stop the general public using the road so riders should be aware of possible traffic. The latest time for rider’s vehicles to access the car park will be 9.50am.

Sign On

From 08.30am.

Warming Up

Warming up on the hill will not be permitted after 9.55am and all riders should be off the hill by then. Offending riders may be disqualified.

Care should be taken descending the hill as there are a couple of dodgy bends.


Riders number 2, 3, 10, 17, 18, & 24 are not eligible for the Championships.

Rider number 31 is not eligible for the Team Championship.