Monday, May 20, 2024

The Lake APR 2007


HomeRaceRace ReviewsThe Lake APR 2007

63 riders took to the start on a bitterly cold – but dry – morning in the village of Bulclyvie for The Lake APR. Split into six groups, with a fast scratch which included the previous week’s Rosneath winner, Gordon Murdoch of East Kilbride Road Club, as well as the inform Paul Coates of Squadra Via Mazzini Racetool, myself and Edge pairing of Paul Rennie and Graham McGarritty (who won this race 25 years ago when still a junior!).

– Reported by Stuart Macgregor –

The Lake APR
Paul Rennie pips Gordon Murdoch on the line for 3rd place.

However, the man they all had to catch was Jocky Johnstone (East Kilbride Road Club), who was receiving a head start of 15 minutes advantage from the scratch group.

Despite being 66 years of age there was a lot of grumbling in the hall before the start that the the time gap was far too long and the bookies had stopped taking bets.

After one lap Jocky decided to leave the rest of his group and go it alone, by this time groups 2 and 3 had merged and group 5 and 6 (the scratch group) had formed together too.

Going strongly in the last bunch were Paul Coates and Paul Rennie who were anxious to catch all in front as quickly as possible.

Jocky eventually got reeled in by groups 2 and 3 on the ascent of Flanders Moss for the second time. Chasing hard and leading the second big bunch were Paul Rennie, Gordon Murdoch and Paul Coates.

Turning into Indian Road for the long climb to the finish, Dominic Hines – left – (who had started in the 3rd group) from the Edinburgh Road Club attacked and got a decent gap which he would go on to hold to the finish.

A good ride from him, with a strong attack well-timed and executed.

Despite a valiant chase, Jocky couldn’t bridge the gap and was swallowed up first by the fast finishing Paul Coates, then by Gordon Murdoch and Paul Rennie. Still, his ride secured him top >50 vet – impressive.

The Lake APR
The indefatigable Jocky Johnstone getting presented with his prize by Murray O’Donnell of Sapphire, Glasgow Nightingale’s new sponsor.

The Lake APR Result

1 Dominic Hines (Edinburgh RC)
2 Paul Coates (Squadra Via Mazzini Racetool) @ 10sec
3 Paul Rennie (Edge Racing) @ 20sec
4 Gordon Murdoch (East Kilbride) @ same time
5 Jocky Johnstone (East Kilbride) @ same time
6 Graham Small (East Kilbride) @ 1min
7 Colin Russel (Edinburgh RC)
8 Jamie Donohue (Glasgow Couriers)
9 Stephen Roy (Edinburgh RC)
10 Paul McSkimming (unattached) all same time

1st 3rd Cat Colin Russel (Edinburgh RC)
1st 4th Cat Graeme Small (Esat Kilbride RC)
1st Vet >50 Jocky Johnston (East Kilbride RC)
1st Junior Graham Neagle (Pedal power)
1st Woman Sarah Gleave (Unattached)